Yelling down Valleys #AtoZchallenge

The police have come and gone. They’ve taken photos and notes. They have nodded gravely. They’ve listened kindly. Yet why do I feel like I’ve not been heard?

 

They wanted to know if I knew of anyone who had something against me. I said I did not. “Are you sure?” said Officer Whitmore and I swear he looked at me like I was lying. “No,” I repeated, “I do not.” I am not lying.

Urbino stayed by my side the whole time pressing himself against my leg and growling occasionally. The officer looked amused. “Nice pup”, he said “Too bad he couldn’t wake you up last night. Do you always sleep so soundly?”

I looked at him. He seemed to be suggesting something. “Did you take any pills?”

“No,” I said pulling my cardigan around me tightly “I do not drink and I did not take any pills”.

He shrugged. “Weird that you didn’t hear anything. Looks like there were a few people here. Can’t believe they didn’t make any noise.”

So, the police are gone now and I’ve locked up the house. I need to get away from people for a while. Urbino and I are walking through the hills and in the valleys. “I belong here” I yell into the vale. “This land is mine too.”

I hear a rumble back. Thunder? Distorted echo?

I don’t know what’s going on and I’m going to have to spend a lot of time working this out but they cannot stop me. I have work to do.

Leave a Reply

