W is for Wassail #AtoZchallenge

A Wassail is a ceremony, a festival, a pagan ritual designed to promote the fertility of orchards and to protect the trees from evil spirits.

I’m all for that.

I’ve been to Wassails. They take place in January at the time of the full moon. You have a bonfire, you have cider, you sing, you dance, you chant. You have a great time.

You sprinkle cider on toast and hang it on branches. This encourages birds to visit which is apparently a good thing.

Apparently there is a local Wiccan community who might be willing to help me out with this. I’ll need someone to write and perform the chant. Or lead the chant since all of us (who can I get to attend?) will be performing the chant.

Do I sound like a fool? Don’t answer that! I’m trying to do so many things at once. Learn about trees, learn DIY skills, learn about dogsl–Urbino has my heart, but dog-ownership has a lot more to it than I thought it would.

I want community. I want friends! There, I’ve said it. Will a Wassail bring me friends? Or just a massive headache?

Leave a Reply

